FORUMS

[Question] Error E1001: Failed to update system image, ERROR 7

27 posts
Thanks Meter: 13
 
By Octal450, Junior Member on 26th April 2018, 06:10 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi.
This is my first time working with ROMs, wanted to see if I could unpack and repack them and have them work, so I would know if my later changes cause problems. I've noticed if I unzip a ROM, then zip it again, without any changes made, I get this error within a few seconds of starting the flash. If I don't unpack and repack the zip, it flashes fine.

I use the Android Kitchen, to unpack/repack, and signed the zip. Anyone know what's going on?

Did a full wipe with TWRP before flash attempt.

Code:
Starting ADB Sideload feature...
Target: google/occam/mako:5.1.1/LMy48M/2167285:user/release-keys
detected filesystem ext4 for /dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system
Patching system image unconditionally...
E1001: Failed to update system image.
Updater process ended with ERROR: 7
Thank you,
Josh
17th May 2018, 09:14 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Pekalongan
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Edit your updater-script
find this line
Code:
.... package_extract_file("system.transfer.list"), "system.new.dat.br", "system.patch.dat") ||
  abort("E1001: Failed to update system image.");
change to :
Code:
.... package_extract_file("system.transfer.list"), "system.new.dat.br", "system.patch.dat");
Just replace " ||" with ";" and delete line abort("blablabla"):
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to adislice For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift adislice Ad-Free
13th June 2018, 08:36 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Flag haldwani
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adislice

find this line

Code:
.... package_extract_file("system.transfer.list"), "system.new.dat.br", "system.patch.dat") ||
  abort("E1001: Failed to update system image.");
change to :
Code:
.... package_extract_file("system.transfer.list"), "system.new.dat.br", "system.patch.dat");
Just replace " ||" with ";" and delete line abort("blablabla"):

hey man when i deleted that line my phone booted in fastboot mode
26th April 2019, 09:41 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Flag kamoke
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I solved this by installing the latest version of TWRP and Oxygen OS.
3rd January 2020, 11:31 AM |#5  
usmantahir's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lahore
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Can anyone please help me correct error 7 with the following updater-script
The error i get is :
Installing zip file '/external_sd/lineage-15.1
20180524-UNOFFICIAL-Ocm.zip
Checking for Digest file...
Target: htc/ocmdtwl_01405/htc_ocmdtwl:8.0.0/OPR6.
170623.013/1010171.4:user/release-keys
detected filesystem ext4 for /dev/block/bootdevice/
by-name/system
Patching system image unconditionally...
E1001: Failed to update system image.
Updater process ended with ERROR: 7
Error installing zip file '/external_sd/lineage-15.
-20180524-UNOFFICIAL-ROm,zip'
Updating partition details...
... done


assert(getprop("ro.product.device") == "htc_ocm" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "htc_ocm" ||
getprop("ro.product.device") == "htc_ocndugl" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "htc_ocndugl" ||
getprop("ro.product.device") == "htc_ocmdtwl" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "htc_ocmdtwl" ||
getprop("ro.product.device") == "ocm" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "ocm" || abort("E3004: This package is for device: htc_ocm,htc_ocndugl,htc_ocmdtwl,ocm; this device is " + getprop("ro.product.device") + ".");
ui_print("Target: htc/ocmdtwl_01405/htc_ocmdtwl:8.0.0/OPR6.170623.013/1010171.4:user/release-keys");
ifelse(is_mounted("/system"), unmount("/system"));
package_extract_dir("install", "/tmp/install");
set_metadata_recursive("/tmp/install", "uid", 0, "gid", 0, "dmode", 0755, "fmode", 0644);
set_metadata_recursive("/tmp/install/bin", "uid", 0, "gid", 0, "dmode", 0755, "fmode", 0755);
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/bootdevice/by-name/system", "/system", "");
run_program("/tmp/install/bin/backuptool.sh", "backup");
unmount("/system");
show_progress(0.650000, 0);
ui_print("Patching system image unconditionally...");
block_image_update("/dev/block/bootdevice/by-name/system", package_extract_file("system.transfer.list"), "system.new.dat.br", "system.patch.dat") ||
abort("E1001: Failed to update system image.");
show_progress(0.100000, 0);
ui_print("Patching vendor image unconditionally...");
block_image_update("/dev/block/bootdevice/by-name/vendor", package_extract_file("vendor.transfer.list"), "vendor.new.dat.br", "vendor.patch.dat") ||
abort("E2001: Failed to update vendor image.");
show_progress(0.020000, 10);
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/bootdevice/by-name/system", "/system", "");
run_program("/tmp/install/bin/backuptool.sh", "restore");
unmount("/system");
show_progress(0.050000, 5);
package_extract_file("boot.img", "/dev/block/bootdevice/by-name/boot");
show_progress(0.200000, 10);
if (getprop("ro.boot.mid") == "2Q4D20000" || getprop("ro.boot.mid") == "2Q4D10000") then
ui_print("This is a DS device - renaming radio props");
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/bootdevice/by-name/system", "/system", "");
rename("/vendor/lib64/libril-qc-ltedirectdisc.so", "/system/vendor/lib64/libril-qc-ltedirectdisc.so");
rename("/vendor/lib64/libril-qc-qmi-1.so", "/system/vendor/lib64/libril-qc-qmi-1.so");
rename("/vendor/lib64/libril-qc-radioconfig.so", "/system/vendor/lib64/libril-qc-radioconfig.so");
rename("/vendor/lib64/libril-qcril-hook-oem.so", "/system/vendor/lib64/libril-qcril-hook-oem.so");
unmount("/system");
endif;
set_progress(1.000000);

Any help is appreciated :s
7th August 2020, 11:30 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Try using sideload insted of sd
i had the same error and i could do nothing...then I thought my sd maybe giving the error so i tried the sideload mode and believe me..........it worked
option 2:-if u have backed up your rom (or by anyhow if you can) try flashing another (in my case...an older) version of twrp. it also worked for me. would be glad if this helps you.


---------- Post added at 11:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:05 PM ----------

[/COLOR]
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL.Pirate

i had the same error and i could do nothing...then I thought my sd maybe giving the error so i tried the sideload mode and believe......me it worked
but...at the moment i am having another problem...i'd appreciate if someone could help. the rom has been installed correctly (I guess) but...when it reboots,it says encryption unsuccessful. ther'es a key sayng reset phone but nothing happens after pressing it.i tried wiping all the partitions and reinstalling the rom and no use.

Solved...had some matters with the data partition.
11th August 2020, 03:38 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SL.Pirate

Solved...had some matters with the data partition.

Such as?

I'm stuck at the same place as you were...
11th August 2020, 09:59 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
For the posterity :

in TWRP go to advanced > terminal, then create /cache/recovery with

mkdir /cache/recovery
solved the problem for me

Source : https://android.stackexchange.com/qu...-gt-n7100-t03g
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to 6mon For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift 6mon Ad-Free
13th August 2020, 12:11 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6mon

Such as?

I'm stuck at the same place as you were...

it said 'ENCRYPTION UNSUCCESSFULL'
if the samething happens to you....go to twrp,select wipe,advanced wipe and select (only) the data partition. then you gotta select repair or change file system select change file system and then select the correct format for the partition.(in and most of the cases...it is the EXT4 format.go ahead and reboot your device.this should probably work.If not...try other formats also from bottom to to. (HINT:-see what other partitions are formatted to).This should probably work if thats the case.
Today, 12:04 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
worked for me .thanks alot
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes