Get the OnePlus 6 early at a pop-up event in your city →
FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] Convert /data to f2fs with TWRP 2.8.+ [TF700T]

4,809 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,075
 
By berndblb, Recognized Contributor on 5th April 2015, 04:37 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Prerequisites:
  • You need to be on the 10.6.1.14.10 bootloader
  • You need to know how to flash a recovery

Some background reading on f2fs: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F2FS

Step 1:
Backup all your data off the tablet because it will get wiped!
!

Step 2:
Install a recovery that supports conversion to the f2fs file system


You can use the official TWRP 2.8.x from here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/tran...rea51-t3049395
Do not use TWRP 2.8.5 - it has a bug with the f2fs conversion - or 2.8.6 for that matter. It has another bug: won't reboot to anything from recovery...

For Transformer users I would highly recommend to install @lj50036 TWRP Kang version from here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/tran...rea51-t3049395
His Kang TWRP allows you to format/convert/backup external partitions or entire cards which will come in very handy for data2sd or rom2sd users.
It even supports the dock SD!

Step 3
Flash your chosen recovery in fastboot and reboot.


Optional but recommened
Since you are at it anyway I would recommend you format your /data partition before you convert to f2fs. The TWRP build-in "Format data" option does a "a secure erase" which trims and wipes every single block. A great way to start with a fresh and clean data partition. This process takes time - could be upwards of 60 minutes - do not interrupt it!!! You find the option under the Wipe menu


Step 4:
Enter TWRP, choose Wipe > Advanced Wipe


To Convert INTERNAL /data to f2fs
Check the box for "data"
Tap "change or repair file system"
Tap "Change file system"
Tap "F2FS"
Swipe the button

DATA2SD/ROM2SD users only:
To Convert EXTERNAL /data to f2fs (with lj's Kang TWRP TF700T only - official TWRP does not support this)
Check the box for Ext/data
Proceed as above

Step 5
Go back to TWRP Home screen, and reflash your ROM - which you have stored somewhere you did NOT wipe with the preceding steps!! Like: your microSD


Notes:
  • With /data on f2fs you need to run your ROM with a kernel that supports that file system. Read the OP of your ROM thread
  • Convert ONLY /data to f2fs. Do NOT convert /system (or anything else for that matter)
  • If you forma /data back to ext4 for any reason it will take up to 90 minutes. Do not interrupt it!!!

DATA2SD/ROM2SD ONLY
If you have the official TWRP installed and do not want to flash lj's Kang TWRP, you can - as always - use the data2sd1.zip/rom2sd1zip to have TWRP act on your external partitions.
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift berndblb Ad-Free
 
 
5th April 2015, 05:19 PM |#2  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Area51
Thanks Meter: 3,290
 
Donate to Me
More
MINE ......
5th April 2015, 05:25 PM |#3  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 15,735
 
Donate to Me
More
Cool!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sbdags For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sbdags Ad-Free
6th April 2015, 09:28 AM |#4  
eRPeeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 595
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Convert EXTERNAL /data to f2fs (lj's Kang TWRP TF700T only)
Check the box for Ext/data
Proceed as above

5. Step
Go back to TWRP Home screen, and reflash your ROM - which you have stored somewhere you did NOT wipe with the preceding steps!!

  • reflash your ROM - which you have stored somewhere you did NOT wipe with the preceding steps!!
    --> ??? It must be on external, I presume?
  • Where could it be located? If on external i suppose it is on:
    --> ??? 14. FAT 32 : Size 16GB – this will be /dev/sdc1 in gparted and will be your sdcard for storage in Android
6th April 2015, 02:23 PM |#5  
berndblb's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 2,075
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eRPeeX

  • It's the second partition if you are running data2sd/rom2sd
    data2sd:
    1. partition fat32 = your microSD storage
    2. partition f2fs (or ext4) = /data

    rom2sd
    1. partition fat32 = microSD storage
    2. partition f2fs or ext4 = /data
    3. partition ext4 = /system

    Quote:

  • reflash your ROM - which you have stored somewhere you did NOT wipe with the preceding steps!!
    --> ??? It must be on external, I presume?

The fat32 partition on the microSD (or just plain microSD if you don't run data2sd/rom2sd) is probably the safest place, yes.

Quote:

Where could it be located? If on external i suppose it is on:
--> ??? 14. FAT 32 : Size 16GB – this will be /dev/sdc1 in gparted and will be your sdcard for storage in Android

Yes
Submit to XDA Portal Quick Reply Reply
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift berndblb Ad-Free
6th April 2015, 07:48 PM |#6  
eRPeeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 595
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

It's the second partition if you are running data2sd/rom2sd
data2sd:
1. partition fat32 = your microSD storage
2. partition f2fs (or ext4) = /data

rom2sd
1. partition fat32 = microSD storage
2. partition f2fs or ext4 = /data
3. partition ext4 = /system


The fat32 partition on the microSD (or just plain microSD if you don't run data2sd/rom2sd) is probably the safest place, yes.


Yes

So for f2fs you always need a Gparted formatted SD.
f2fs only on internal /Data is not possible?
Submit to XDA Portal Quick Reply Reply
6th April 2015, 08:30 PM |#7  
berndblb's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 2,075
 
More
Sure it is. Read step 4
Submit to XDA Portal Quick Reply Reply
6th April 2015, 08:50 PM |#8  
eRPeeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 595
 
More
I just only converted Internal /data to f2fs.
Flashed beta 4.
Seems to be possible to have f2fs only on internal.
Submit to XDA Portal Quick Reply Reply
7th April 2015, 02:50 AM |#9  
berndblb's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 2,075
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eRPeeX

f2fs only on internal /Data is not possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Sure it is. Read step 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by eRPeeX

I just only converted Internal /data to f2fs.
Flashed beta 4.
Seems to be possible to have f2fs only on internal.

Where does it say you can't????????????????

Edit: Ahhh! I see where your thinking went off track. You thought you had to convert both internal and external data for f2fs to work, right?
Nope - external data only concerns data2sd/rom2sd users. Edited OP to make that clear - I hope.
Submit to XDA Portal Quick Reply Reply
The Following User Says Thank You to berndblb For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift berndblb Ad-Free
7th April 2015, 05:02 AM |#10  
eRPeeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 595
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Where does it say you can't????????????????

Edit: Ahhh! I see where your thinking went off track. You thought you had to convert both internal and external data for f2fs to work, right?
Nope - external data only concerns data2sd/rom2sd users. Edited OP to make that clear - I hope.

Yes, you could read my mind.
Submit to XDA Portal Quick Reply Reply
7th April 2015, 12:11 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Just thought I'd share my experience, in case someone else makes the same mistake I did ...

I put the card into my computer and ran gparted to create the partitions. I fiddled with it for a while, resizing partitions while trying to decide how much space to allocate to each and what format to use for /data. I ended up with what graphically looked like the right layout:

I---sdcard---II--------------data--------------II---system---I

The rom2sd install seemed to go fine (Crombi-kk at the time). However I couldn't get it to boot.

Turns out in my fiddling I managed to get the second two partition table entries switched - partition 1 was fine, partition 2 pointed to the rightmost block graphically, parition 3 pointed to the middle block. I don't really know whether it was the installer or TWRP that got confused, or if it installed ok but the boot got confused.

In any case, deleting the partitions and re-creating them in order worked.
Submit to XDA Portal Quick Reply Reply
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF700 General by ThreadRank