FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How to turn on/off wifi hotspot on bluetooth connect/disconnect

85 posts
Thanks Meter: 5

By glenb83, Member on 15th June 2017, 12:57 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi All,

I'm new to Tasker but reading around various forums, it seems it will do what I need, just not sure HOW and I'm hoping someone here can help?!

I have an Android car radio and a Nexus 6P. I want to be able to setup a task/profile so that when my phone pairs to the headunit via bluetooth at power on, it turns the phone WiFi off and the WiFi hotspot on. Then when the car is turned off and bluetooth disconnects, it will turn off my phone hotspot and turn my phone WiFi back on.

I'm sure it's fairly simple for someone who knows what they are doing, any assistance would be much appreciated!
15th June 2017, 02:04 AM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 34

More
I have this set up with a profile like so:

State=bluetooth connected, 'CAR KIT'
--->task 'CarTether' (WiFi Tether=Set On)
<---exit task 'CarTetherExit' (WiFi Set On)

I have another profile that turns off bluetooth after 1 minute if it's not connected, thats what triggers the exit task (since it's no longer connected to 'CAR KIT' when I turn off the car). AFAIK when you turn hotspot on your phone will turn off wifi on its own, but you need to turn it back on (hence the exit task), and when wifi turns back on the hotspot should turn off.
21st June 2017, 01:24 AM |#3  
OP Member

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andromeda_Station

I have this set up with a profile like so:

State=bluetooth connected, 'CAR KIT'
--->task 'CarTether' (WiFi Tether=Set On)
<---exit task 'CarTetherExit' (WiFi Set On)