FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

wifi stay on with airplane mode on

1,253 posts
Thanks Meter: 94
 
By jerryspring, Senior Member on 29th July 2019, 06:36 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Want profile so that when airplane mode is on, I want wifi to stay on. Any ideas? Want it set for a certain time.
 
 
29th July 2019, 09:34 PM |#2  
Snowby123's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Wifi cannot be on when airplane mode is on. I have tried automating it with tasker, and manually doing it. I get errors. I think this is just the way airplane mode works.

Why use wifi with airplane mode anyways?
29th July 2019, 11:27 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
There is a way of doing it there are some secure setting which you can toggle to prevent certain radio to switch off when activating aeroplane mode,

There is also a guide that I quickly found, which allow you to do it another way via a pc >
30th July 2019, 03:11 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowby123

Wifi cannot be on when airplane mode is on. I have tried automating it with tasker, and manually doing it. I get errors. I think this is just the way airplane mode works.

Why use wifi with airplane mode anyways?

Um...yeah u can have WiFi on with airplane on. Done it tons of times.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_XDA_Labs_20190729-221057.png
Views:	76
Size:	128.2 KB
ID:	4799112  
30th July 2019, 03:12 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowby123

Wifi cannot be on when airplane mode is on. I have tried automating it with tasker, and manually doing it. I get errors. I think this is just the way airplane mode works.

Why use wifi with airplane mode anyways?

I want airplane on and WiFi on while I'm sleeping.
30th July 2019, 06:49 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 633
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryspring

I want airplane on and WiFi on while I'm sleeping.

Just create a Task:
1. Turn Airplane Mode On via Tasker Autoinput (or if you're rooted via plugin Secure Setttings)
2. Turn WIFi On

The above Task will be triggered by a Profile based on your desired time of day.
The Following User Says Thank You to GrippingSphere For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift GrippingSphere Ad-Free
30th July 2019, 01:24 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrippingSphere

Just create a Task:
1. Turn Airplane Mode On via Tasker Autoinput
2. Turn WIFi On

The above Task will be triggered with a Profile based on your desired time of day.

Where is option to turn AP on with autoinput?
30th July 2019, 08:55 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 633
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryspring

Where is option to turn AP on with autoinput?

In Autoinput, a series of Autoinput actions must be created , i.e.:
Autoinput Global Action 'Quick Settings'
Autoinput Action short click point (x, y axis where the icon Airplane Mode is located)
Autoinput Action short click to confirm the AP
30th July 2019, 11:11 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrippingSphere

In Autoinput, a series of Autoinput actions must be created , i.e.:
Autoinput Global Action 'Quick Settings'
Autoinput Action short click point (x, y axis where the icon Airplane Mode is located)
Autoinput Action short click to confirm the AP

Thank you. But no thanks. Lol
2nd August 2019, 11:46 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Here's mine, it does what your asking

https://taskernet.com/shares/?user=A...%3ASleep+Cycle

It turns on airplane mode then every interval turns WiFi on to allow notifications then goes dark again. No add-ons needed just root. It uses shell commands for both WiFi and airplane mode with waits in-between.

Edit: There is also a shell command that allows you to pick what radios go off when airplane mode is turned on. So essentially you can omit WiFi so that when you turn ap mode on WiFi stays on. But in my profile I chose to turn it off manually by code so WiFi isn't on the whole time.
The Following User Says Thank You to Fe Mike For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Fe Mike Ad-Free
3rd August 2019, 08:53 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 633
 
More
There's an option within Tasker to turn WiFi On or Off, but of course will only work when rooted.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes