150 posts
Thanks Meter: 58

By Infinity02, Senior Member on 12th August 2017, 04:19 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
All credits goes to B-S-G
His original thread
and Thanks to XDA Headlines!
Link for GC

U11 Camera for still photos is (probably?) the best in class right now, but not without flaw that is overexposure.
As soon as the Modded HDR+ GC has become available I have decided to compare some shots with Stock camera w/HDR and Google Camera w/HDR+ enabled.

Here are some comparisons and my opinions.

Lowlight
http://imgur.com/2ziArQB

With Google Cam overexposure and blown out highlights are no longer an issue. However, the details in the shadow area of the low light image will get smudged out thanks to the noise reduction and/or become too dark.
on Stock HTC Sharpening is harsher than GC when 100% zoomed in but not as much as Sammy. The color on stock app is much more vibrant as well, but that comes with noisy image.
As a photographer I'd prefer lower noise image, but for smartphone camera that is not a very important thing comparing to, say, details in the dark area.

Overall Exposure and Details
http://imgur.com/Rqjk2hL

GC did a great job keeping all the details in highlight areas while stock app blown them to bits.
Colors, yet again HTC stock is punchy and vibrant on shadow areas while GC is a tad bit duller.

Close up
http://imgur.com/D7HEkbR

HTC, as usual, produce much more vibrant colors and more sharpened image while highlight areas are blown out.
It all comes down to your taste, people who like "Natural" tone will prefer GC while snap and go type better stick to HTCs'.
for me I prefer GC by the day and HTC stock by night as GC will give more room in image editing.
Basically, short squeeze for stock app, long squeez for Google Cam for me!

----
Current working Gcam with Portrait mode
https://www.celsoazevedo.com/files/a...nova8G2-V5.apk

Preferred Setting
Config for HDR+: Pixel 2017 ZSL HDR+