FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Verizon wear24 any way to unlock for use with other carrier?

33 posts
Thanks Meter: 1

By jnasmith, Member on 6th December 2017, 03:27 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I just picked up a Verizon Wear24 for cheap. I'm a Project Fi user and would like to get rid of the verizon crap on the watch and link it more completely to my phone. I'm new to Android Wear but not to android. Is there a way to unlock AW and flash a more stock ROM?

6th December 2017, 03:46 PM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 6

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnasmith

I just picked up a Verizon Wear24 for cheap. I'm a Project Fi user and would like to get rid of the verizon crap on the watch and link it more completely to my phone. I'm new to Android Wear but not to android. Is there a way to unlock AW and flash a more stock ROM?

The SIM actually comes out in this if you take it apart enough. You can replace with any SIM of your choosing. The real problem is that the phone is limited on bands as it is just LTE band 13. Let's say you succeeded in adding bands, you would still have an issue entering APN settings as this menu is restricted.
8th December 2017, 05:03 PM |#3  
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 303

Donate to Me
More
Without root you cannot add any bands. i did this with my tmobile lg g3 back in the day. while complicated it did work.

Has anyone rooted this watch?
12th December 2017, 03:04 PM |#4  

More
Adding bands to qualcomm you must patch rmt-storage or any modifications to the bands will revert
then you have to enable APN menu as adding new APN is disabled on this firmware.
15th December 2017, 03:41 PM |#5  
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 17

More
Since this watch was available at $80, a lot of people jump in to get one. Hopefully with time we get more developers to be involve. I'm looking to replace the bands. As of now I don't care about LATE. But I wish we can enable NFC for Android pay