FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Newbie guide for installing a Custom ROM in SGP312 Sony Xperia Tablet Z

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 5

By Magnus_E, Junior Member on 23rd February 2015, 02:53 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
The objective of this post is to explain how to currently install a custom ROM in our device. (for total newbies like me, you can also refer -among others- to my previous post). I give the general procedure which wipes everything in your device, but you can check various precious posts in xda that variate this procedure.

The codename for our device is "pollux_windy", which is the Wifi-only version. The LTE version (I should probably get the LTE!) is "pollux" and I suppose the general procedure (with the corresponding firmwares to your specific device) will work for any Xperia device. You can also get the general idea from this post.

As a general rule of thumb do not forget after/before every firmware flashing to:
  • Enable developer mode (explained here)
  • Enable the USB Debugging mode (explained here)
  • Trust installation from unknown sources (explained here)

Steps.
A. Unlock the bootloader.
You can refer here and then check that it is successfully unlocked with these steps (taken from here ):
  • Open the Contacts app.
  • Click the menu button.
  • Click Settings.
  • Long press (for about 5 seconds) somewhere in the empty space just above status bar, as indicated by the red frame in the screenshot below, and then release your finger. A button named Enter service code will then appear in the same area (this may take a few tries).
  • Click Enter service code. A dialler will appear.
  • Dial *#*#7378423#*#* . Then go to -> "Service Info" -> "Configuration". If there is:
    Bootloader unlock allowed - Yes << this means that your Bootloader is Locked
    Bootloader Unlocked - Yes << this means that your bootloader is unlocked

B. Flash a firmware in which you will root the device
  • Download/install FlashTool.