FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Bypass Lock Screen

13 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
Post Reply Email Thread
I'm not sure if anyone noticed this but I stumbled across this at the end of last weekend. It's quite simple to bypass any lock screen on the XPeria Z, I emailed Sony but no response so it's probably something we should be aware of.

I can't post a link but I have put a video up on my website scottreed.eu
The Following User Says Thank You to scottreeddev For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift scottreeddev Ad-Free
 
 
25th March 2013, 10:01 AM |#2  
Dsteppa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 458
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottreeddev

I'm not sure if anyone noticed this but I stumbled across this at the end of last weekend. It's quite simple to bypass any lock screen on the XPeria Z, I emailed Sony but no response so it's probably something we should be aware of.

I can't post a link but I have put a video up on my website scottreed.eu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=LLq1gxIt5YQ

Edit:
Another way to get Sony's attention would be if everyone hit that "Tip us?" button on the top right. If the issue got even more attention the chances would become bigger that Sony fixes this issue faster.
25th March 2013, 10:18 AM |#3  
scottreeddev's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Bournemouth
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Thanks for posting the direct link
25th March 2013, 10:50 AM |#4  
LiveSquare's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsteppa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=LLq1gxIt5YQ

Edit:
Another way to get Sony's attention would be if everyone hit that "Tip us?" button on the top right. If the issue got even more attention the chances would become bigger that Sony fixes this issue faster.

Have you tried that? I'm running .434 firmware and I can't simulate that. When I click on the NFC, I'm back to the PIN screen.
25th March 2013, 10:53 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Maybe we can install some security app to stop the easily bypass.
25th March 2013, 11:14 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Ooooh snap! Works on my phone.

My phone is rooted. So maybe it works only on rooted phones? I'm using the latest firmware (434)

Edit:
Ok gave it several tries.

When you use the exploit, the phone won't lock again till you restart or change the lock screen.

Can anybody else confirm this?
25th March 2013, 11:54 AM |#7  
scottreeddev's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Bournemouth
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiveSquare

Have you tried that? I'm running .434 firmware and I can't simulate that. When I click on the NFC, I'm back to the PIN screen.

The device I found it on is the following

Model: C6603
Android: 4.1.2
Kernel: [email protected]))#1 SMT PREEMPT Sun Jan 15:30:38 2013
Build Number: 10.1.A.1.350
25th March 2013, 11:59 AM |#8  
scottreeddev's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Bournemouth
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oranglewat

Ooooh snap! Works on my phone.

My phone is rooted. So maybe it works only on rooted phones? I'm using the latest firmware.

Edit:
Ok gave it several tries.

If you have the pattern, password or face lock, this will work. But it doesn't work if you use pin lock.

When you use the exploit, the phone won't lock again till you restart or change the lock screen.

So for the time being, use the pin lock.

Can anybody else confirm this?

It works for me with PIN. One important thing I've noticed when showing this to people is once you've done it once I seems to screw up the locking. Once you've done it the lock button then doesn't show the security screen and if you press home it will. Also once you've done it once you have to force close all of the test windows and actually unlock your phone by press home then unlocking, It's quite wierd what happens after
25th March 2013, 12:09 PM |#9  
scottreeddev's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Bournemouth
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Wink
Another thing is when I first found this it was on one of the other service tests, I think maybe wifi but the NFC was the easiest one I found so it may be possible to activate it in other ways.

As said in a reply once you have done the exploit you must do the following to get it back to non-exploit state
  1. Press the home button
  2. Unlock your phone normally
  3. Preset the task management button
  4. clear all of the service test windows
25th March 2013, 12:23 PM |#10  
Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
You're right, works with PIN also.

Hope Sony update the firmware soon.
25th March 2013, 02:31 PM |#11  
Member
Flag Butterworth
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Non rooted unit here. Updated to 434 and can replicate the problem

Hope get fixed in updates soon...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes