FORUMS

[MOD] [KERNEL] [C6603] ROMSwitcher | Mithun's Rom Switcher | Alpha [DUALBOOT]

1,275 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,839
 
By mithun46, Senior Member on 30th August 2013, 10:44 AM
Post Reply Email Thread



Mithun's Rom Switcher


This is a Mod which allows you to switching between Timescape and any AOSP based rom.
It's only for advanced users and I am not responsible if your XZ get bricked or transform into a monster and eat up your cat
It is still in alpha state, but is working for daily use

Before you install this, please read the whole post!
Your first rom is Stock Timescape and second rom is any AOSP rom.
The second rom is installed on the /cache partition.
/data and /cache folders for second ROM is in /data/dual/

This Mod switches between two kernels.
For Timescape you can use any kernel, for AOSP you have to use my modified CM kernel.

Why I created this Mod?
fusion3 devices haven't got a multiboot option like this

Default kernel for Timescape is DooMKernel,
if you want to use another kernel, replace fiirst.img in /sdcard/romwitcher/ with your favorite kernel.

Sources:
https://github.com/RomSwitchers
OUR APP IS CLOSED SOURCE

How to install?
You can use any AOSP rom!
First Install stock ROM .ftf and root it
Then Flash DooMKernel
Download any AOSP rom. Extract it and open META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script
replace this line

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "/system");
with this wherever u see it

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/cache", "/system");
then delete these lines

Code:
format("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "0", "/system");
and

Code:
package_extract_file("boot.img", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/boot");
You will need Gapps
Get it here http://goo.im/gapps/

Extract it and open updater-script
and replace

Code:
run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system");
with

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/cache", "/system");
Zip your rom and gapps.

Flash both in recovery. (first rom then gapps)
DO NOT WIPE ANYTHING

Reboot your phone and if you did all correct. You should boot into your Timescape Stock rom.

Now download and install my app
Download my app here

Open ROMSwitcher and follow the instructions. It will fetch required files automatically

NOTE: Currently Recovery works on Stock ROM only

That's all have fun


The Following 24 Users Say Thank You to mithun46 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mithun46 Ad-Free
30th August 2013, 10:45 AM |#2  
mithun46's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag ▒▅|▆|█|▆|▅▒
Thanks Meter: 1,839
 
Donate to Me
More

Wipe data/cache on AOSP rom
Wipe data:
Delete /data/dual/2nddata
Wipe cache:
Delete /data/dual/cache

Install new AOSP rom
Wipe cache in recovery and delete /data/dual
then flash your new rom

Remove AOSP rom
Wipe cache in recovery and delete /data/dual

Do you want support me?
Donate to Grarak - here
You can buy me a pepsi via Google Wallet - Details in Signature
Press Thanks
Press "Tip us?" above the OP
Rate this Thread with 5 Stars
Report bugs

Devices ROMSwitcher Supports
Google Nexus 10 [manta]
Samsung Galaxy S4 [i9500]
Sony Xperia ZL [C6503]
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to mithun46 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mithun46 Ad-Free
30th August 2013, 10:47 AM |#3  
mithun46's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag ▒▅|▆|█|▆|▅▒
Thanks Meter: 1,839
 
Donate to Me
More

Credits
@Grarak - For all, Awesome Base and all. Simply talking - "Thanks to Grarak for a loooot!!!!"
@Jijonhyuni - using the same dualboot method as he does on Galaxy Nexus
@gokhanmoral - using some scripts of his Siyah Kernel
Paul O'Brian - for concept
@DooMLoRD - for xperia.img [DooMKernel]
@Drummerjed - for testing

Changelog

30-08-2013
First Release

The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to mithun46 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mithun46 Ad-Free
30th August 2013, 10:57 AM |#4  
xarive's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Georgetown, Ayer Itam
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
Something that I've been waiting since the day I bought this device. Thanks dev.
The Following User Says Thank You to xarive For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift xarive Ad-Free
30th August 2013, 11:00 AM |#5  
SuperHanss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norwich
Thanks Meter: 4,184
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xarive

Something that I've been waiting since the day I bought this device. Thanks dev.

I know right? It's awesome!
30th August 2013, 11:54 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 222
 
More
will the TA partition able to be restored with this dual boot feature?
30th August 2013, 11:55 AM |#7  
mithun46's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag ▒▅|▆|█|▆|▅▒
Thanks Meter: 1,839
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leongzxc

will the TA partition able to be restored with this dual boot feature?

By doing that u will lock your boot loader again. Which means no dualboot

Sent from my C6503 using Tapatalk 4
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mithun46 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mithun46 Ad-Free
30th August 2013, 12:01 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 222
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mithun46

By doing that u will lock your boot loader again. Which means no dualboot

Sent from my C6503 using Tapatalk 4

oh right, never thought of that.
thanks!
30th August 2013, 01:41 PM |#9  
xarive's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Georgetown, Ayer Itam
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
having wifi issue @timescape stock after switching back from PAC 4.3. Wifi error and couldn't switch on.
30th August 2013, 01:47 PM |#10  
Grarak's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 10,522
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xarive

having wifi issue @timescape stock after switching back from PAC 4.3. Wifi error and couldn't switch on.

I think Mithun did a mistake with the modules I will contact him
30th August 2013, 01:48 PM |#11  
mithun46's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag ▒▅|▆|█|▆|▅▒
Thanks Meter: 1,839
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xarive

having wifi issue @timescape stock after switching back from PAC 4.3. Wifi error and couldn't switch on.

Download and flash doomkernel again





Quote:
Originally Posted by Grarak

I think Mithun did a mistake with the modules I will contact him

I did not ;P . if I did then it should be in AOSP side



Sent from my C6503 using Tapatalk 4
The Following User Says Thank You to mithun46 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mithun46 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes