FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HELP] Can we use native libs in a module? Mine dies as soon as a lib is added.

206 posts
Thanks Meter: 52

By looxonline, Senior Member on 1st April 2019, 02:45 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,

First, a disclaimer.

I am a Java and xposed noob. My background is in embedded C development so I can get by with some simple Java code and thanks to the great tutorials online I have been able to put together an xposed module but I'm struggling with a problem that is beyond my abilities now and am reaching out to the community for help.

Next, the background.

I have an Android head unit in my car. There is an app that provides me with CarPlay functionality but none of the controls on the steering wheel work with the app. When I analysed the code I found that they handle all of their button inputs using proprietary methods that do not inject an event into any input streams. I wrote an xposed module to hook the button press methods and then inject a proper input into one of the event streams.

Initially I tried to use the command line 'input' command to do this but since it is a Java app and takes about 1s to load it was too slow. My only other option was to create a virtual device on an input stream that I could then use to inject keypresses through the hooked method. To create a virtual device I needed to write C code that my xposed module would be able to access through the JNI. Long story short, after some pain I was able to get the native library integrated into the project and compiling using the NDK.

Finally, the problem.

When I was using the module without the native library it worked but just with a large delay because of the time it takes to load the 'input' java app. I was able to see logs from the module in the logcat as I hooked the method and as I went through the various actions within the hook.