FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][JB+][XPOSED]Roaming Control - v1.22

600 posts
Thanks Meter: 265
 
By CazeW, Senior Member on 9th December 2015, 02:16 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Roaming Control
Are you tired of having the R icon in the notification bar instead of showing the connection speed? Do you have a mobile plan that allows you to use it in certain countries like you were at home? Do you want to enjoy roaming in certain countries/networks but don't want to allow roaming everywhere?
Then this app is for you.

This started as a personal project for something that I needed myself but decided to make it a proper app for everyone to enjoy.
What this app allows you to do is:
  • Allow national roaming on virtual networks (to get rid of the R icon when being home)
  • Force phone into roaming mode on domestic networks that aren't the home network.
  • Add on which specific networks you want to allow roaming
  • Add in which countries you want to allow roaming (this will allow roaming on all the networks in those countries)
  • Dual-SIM support with separate rules for both SIMs (Lollipop 5.1 and onwards).
What this app doesn't do is just remove the R icon and show the connection speed.
If you add your current network or country when being abroad, you are roaming and it is your responsibility to keep your phonebill in check.



Changelog
Code:
v.1.50beta2
- May or may not have fixed the problem in beta 1 not toggling roaming
Changes in the module are untested so there is a possibility that it isn't toggling roaming properly. Leave feedback if it's working/not working.

v.1.50beta
- New UI with material design
- Improved Dual-SIM support
- Import/Export support of network/country lists
- Whitelist mode moved to settings
Changes in the module are untested so there is a possibility that it isn't toggling roaming properly. Leave feedback if it's working/not working.

v.1.22
- Bug fixes that stopped the app from working for some.

v.1.21
- Bug fix to Whitelist mode for single SIM phones
- Code cleaning

v.1.20
- Support for dual-sim on Lollipop 5.1 and onwards. (Thanks to Lion_1@xda for helping with the testing)
- Added Whitelist mode
- Small bug fixes

v.1.10
- Advanced force roaming option. Adds the ability to manually add networks on which to force the phone into roaming mode
- Minor bug fixes

v.1.07
- Fixed network mode not working caused by my code cleaning in v1.06
- Fixed crash when updating from v1.05 so that you don't need to clear data anymore

v1.06
- Some code cleaning
- Added Paypal donate link in about for those that feel like it

v1.05 
- Added Force roaming option to force phone into roaming mode on domestic networks that aren't the home network. 
- Bug fixes:
-- The app could crash when launching it for the first time (or after clearing data) and 
   when trying to remove a network with several MNC added to it.

v1.0 
- Initial release
Screenshots:



Download:
http://repo.xposed.info/module/net.caze.roamingcontrol

If you feel that this app has been useful, feel free to buy me a beer.
https://www.paypal.me/cazew

Latest strings.xml added as attachment for those who want to help with translations.


Note: This app has only been tested so far on my Xperia Z1 Compact running stock Lollipop, so feedback is welcome.
Thanks to Lion_1 for beta testing the dual-sim support.

Use this app on your own caution. I am in no way responsible for any damage to your phone or increase in your phonebill.


If trying beta version, read changelog!
Attached Files
File Type: apk RoamingControl_v1.22.apk - [Click for QR Code] (1.27 MB, 680 views)
File Type: xml strings.xml - [Click for QR Code] (22.0 KB, 204 views)
File Type: apk RoamingControl_v1.50beta2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (2.01 MB, 62 views)
The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to CazeW For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift CazeW Ad-Free
 
 
10th December 2015, 10:20 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Works on marshmallow
Thanks man
Works on marshmallow
Just have to restart system ui to disable R icon
10th December 2015, 03:18 PM |#3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 868
 
More
Two questions;
1) Location of source code? I'd like to contribute.
2) Some phones (like Nexus 5) are having problems recognizing that they *are* roaming in certain circumstances. Can this be used to FORCE it into recognizing that it *is* roaming?
10th December 2015, 06:48 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 265
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitkadam03

Thanks man
Works on marshmallow
Just have to restart system ui to disable R icon

Shouldn't need to restart SystemUI, it should dissappear on its own after a while or if you can't wait, just toggle airplane mode on and off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by doitright

Two questions;
1) Location of source code? I'd like to contribute.
2) Some phones (like Nexus 5) are having problems recognizing that they *are* roaming in certain circumstances. Can this be used to FORCE it into recognizing that it *is* roaming?

For now the source code is just on my computer, haven't yet looked into releasing it.

You mean that there are circumstances where the phone is roaming, but the R isn't showing up and the phone thinks it's on the home network when it in fact is on a foreign network (also not blocking the data connection as it should because of this)? If that's the question, then no, that doesn't currently work. It is however easily implemented.

Basicly what the app does now is to make the phone think it's not roaming when in fact it is (hence why it should be used carefully not to add the wrong networks/countries), but it can as easily be made to work in the other direction, to make the phone think it's roaming even though it is on the home network.
11th December 2015, 12:24 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
This is fantastic. I will test it on my Nexus 6P on T-Mobile when I am roaming again in Canada.

One related thing I have been hoping to see in an Xposed module that forces the data connection type display to stay on when the WiFi is connected as well. I hate that I cannot tell whether my phone is on LTE, H+, H, or GSM when I have an active WiFi connection.
11th December 2015, 11:50 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
@CazeW: great, thanks ! That is something I am looking for since a long time.
Will it work for Dual Sim too? (running CM12.1)

Gesendet von meinem ONE E1003 mit Tapatalk
11th December 2015, 02:59 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 265
 
Donate to Me
More
Update posted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by doitright

2) Some phones (like Nexus 5) are having problems recognizing that they *are* roaming in certain circumstances. Can this be used to FORCE it into recognizing that it *is* roaming?

I looked into this and have now added the Force roaming option to the app. I have however no way of testing this myself so I'll be relying on feedback if it works. Also, if there's enough interest for it, I could add the option to be able to manually add the networks (like with saved networks) you want to force the phone into roaming mode on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fast78

@CazeW: great, thanks ! That is something I am looking for since a long time.
Will it work for Dual Sim too? (running CM12.1)

Gesendet von meinem ONE E1003 mit Tapatalk

This should work on dual sim too but I don't have a dual sim phone to test with. I also suspect that the app might enable roaming for both sim cards which probably isn't what most people want.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CazeW For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift CazeW Ad-Free
11th December 2015, 08:58 PM |#8  
theincognito's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 374
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CazeW

Update posted.


I looked into this and have now added the Force roaming option to the app. I have however no way of testing this myself so I'll be relying on feedback if it works. Also, if there's enough interest for it, I could add the option to be able to manually add the networks (like with saved networks) you want to force the phone into roaming mode on.


This should work on dual sim too but I don't have a dual sim phone to test with. I also suspect that the app might enable roaming for both sim cards which probably isn't what most people want.

Hi. My service provider doesn't cover all places in my state,so I have to connect to another service provider in my state where my home network is not available. Basically,I want to switch from my home network to the other network automatically,when my home network is not available. Can this app do that?
And,it does show the Roaming Symbol when I connect to the other network. Please help.
11th December 2015, 09:15 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 265
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theincognito

Hi. My service provider doesn't cover all places in my state,so I have to connect to another service provider in my state where my home network is not available. Basically,I want to switch from my home network to the other network automatically,when my home network is not available. Can this app do that?
And,it does show the Roaming Symbol when I connect to the other network. Please help.

This app won't make your phone automaticly connect to that network. All it can do is that when you connect to it, the roaming symbol won't show up and the phone will think that you're on your home network.
12th December 2015, 08:44 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Donetsk
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I can't test it on my Lenovo P70-A.
Too sad...
12th December 2015, 12:55 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 265
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glebasik

I can't test it on my Lenovo P70-A.
Too sad...

It doesn't install?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
roaming, roamingcontrol, xposed

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes