What maps version you use ? I use latest from play which shows 9.22.1 at least on my device
Even after once allowed it, then turned scanning off, it immediately popped up again while pressing my location
edit: I would like to think that there are some config files to be accessed while rooted so I could get rid of this notification, but after hours and hours hugging goggle I found nothing ! It seems that this kind of battery&/privacy monster doesnt bother people so much.