FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[XPOSDE MODULE] 3dot menu mod

569 posts
Thanks Meter: 502
 
By c3k, Senior Member on 14th September 2013, 05:09 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
*** This mod is designed for device / rom that didn't have a onscreen navbar (i.e.: samsung rom) ***
If your rom already have a navbar, you should already have 3dot menu enabled and enabling this mod will only hide your navbar!


This mod will enable 3dot menu button in all application (using a 0 height navbar), enjoy!


Side effects:
  • Samsung use fixed layout for their apps, and when a navbar is enabled we got unexpected results, can't do nothing about this... (see screenshot)
  • after enebling the mod screenshot combination change to AOSP style: Power+MenuDown

Read here for more info about 3dot menus: http://android-developers.blogspot.i...nu-button.html
Special thanks to Tungstwenty for this

Xposed Module Repository: LINK
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-14-18-25-41.jpg
Views:	90080
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	2257457   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-14-18-25-55.jpg
Views:	75013
Size:	29.2 KB
ID:	2257458   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-14-18-26-58.jpg
Views:	81749
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	2257459   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-15-01-49-52.jpg
Views:	64056
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	2258082   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-09-15-09-42-15.jpg
Views:	75631
Size:	41.0 KB
ID:	2259110  
Attached Files
File Type: apk Xposed3dotMod.apk - [Click for QR Code] (153.6 KB, 18988 views)
The Following 42 Users Say Thank You to c3k For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift c3k Ad-Free
 
 
14th September 2013, 10:40 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3k

This mod will enable 3dot menu button in all application (using a 0 height navbar), enjoy!

Special thanks to Tungstwenty for this

So will this overlap applications and sit on top of them?
15th September 2013, 12:50 AM |#3  
c3k's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 502
 
Donate to Me
More
No, it's a guideline suggested since android 3.0 honeycomb, so the app had to support it.

Read here for more info:
http://android-developers.blogspot.c...nu-button.html
The Following User Says Thank You to c3k For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift c3k Ad-Free
15th September 2013, 03:08 AM |#4  
famewolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,299
 
Donate to Me
More
Your package will not install from the xposed installer...claims: Package name is incorrect. Downloaded it.tnx.xposednavbarmod Expected it.tnx.xposednavAbarmod
15th September 2013, 03:11 AM |#5  
mad3963's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 132
 
More
Really wanted to use this, but when I enable it and reboot, I repeatedly get the error message "Unfortunately, SystemUI has stopped". The taskbar does not load and my phone is extremely slow.

I'm running stock rooted VZW SGS4.

Sent from my SGS4 using Tapatalk 4
15th September 2013, 04:25 AM |#6  
angel_strife's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Major issue with Samsung rom (s3).
Recent apps menu does not show ( long press menu). Also the contacts (phone app) are overlapped by the menu button, cannot see the first contact.

Canot take screenshots either...

Otherwise, great idea and app.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
15th September 2013, 09:25 AM |#7  
c3k's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 502
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by famewolf

Your package will not install from the xposed installer...claims: Package name is incorrect. Downloaded it.tnx.xposednavbarmod Expected it.tnx.xposednavAbarmod

my typo, sorry
updated

Quote:
Originally Posted by mad3963

Really wanted to use this, but when I enable it and reboot, I repeatedly get the error message "Unfortunately, SystemUI has stopped". The taskbar does not load and my phone is extremely slow.

I'm running stock rooted VZW SGS4.

try to disable other modules, if any
then send me a logcat, i'll try to find the problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by angel_strife

Major issue with Samsung rom (s3).
Recent apps menu does not show ( long press menu).

I use an S3 4.2.1 (wanam) for deploy and have no issue with long press
try to disable other modules, if any

Quote:
Originally Posted by angel_strife

Also the contacts (phone app) are overlapped by the menu button, cannot see the first contact.

Thank you for reporting, I'm using other dialer app so I haven't noticed before
Samsung use fixed layout for their apps, and when a navbar is enabled we got unexpected results, can't do nothing about this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by angel_strife

Canot take screenshots either...

I've notice this too adding my last screenshot yesterday: after enebling the mod screenshot combination change to AOSP style: Power+MenuDown
rizzodg
15th September 2013, 06:16 PM |#8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Doesn't work on my HTC One.
18th September 2013, 10:03 AM |#9  
etatto83's Avatar
Member
Flag Seillons-Source-d'Argens
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
I think you can modify the layout with a Xposed mod...
See my thread for changed layout of Xperia apps with 0px navbar.
18th September 2013, 10:37 AM |#10  
c3k's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 502
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by etatto83

I think you can modify the layout with a Xposed mod...
See my thread for changed layout of Xperia apps with 0px navbar.

yes, sure, you can do almost everything with xposed

but I don't use samsung apps and I have no time to study each layout version for each devices and keep them updated...this is a generic mod...
18th September 2013, 11:53 PM |#11  
MU24R's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Far away
Thanks Meter: 125
 
Donate to Me
More
HI JUST wanna know if theres is amodule for disable the 3 dots menu
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes