FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[MOD] Change Default Resolution to 4k - No root needed!

139 posts
Thanks Meter: 61
 
By Illux, Senior Member on 8th June 2017, 12:17 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey there,

Daki from www.androidkosmos.de published a short article that the resolution can be changed to 4k by default (so Kudos to you man). As it's in German and not exactly step-by-step, I felt like posting a short how-to.

Step 1: Turn on Developer Options.

- Settings -> About -> Click 5x on Build-Number

Step 2: Allow USB debugging

- Settings -> Developer Options -> USB Debugging [X]

Step 3: Open ADB, (always without the " ofc!)

- Type "adb devices", click on "allow request" on your phone

Step 4: Change Resolution and DPI

- Type "adb shell"
- Type "wm size 2160×3840"
- Type "wm density 807 (after a little tinkering, I found 721 to be the best DPI. Yea, really, 721)"

There is no information so far as to how battery life is affected!

Back to default:

Repeat steps 1-3

Step 4: Change Resolution and DPI (back to default)

- Type "adb shell"
- Type "wm size 1080×1920"
- Type "wm density 403"

Best

IlluX
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Illux For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Illux Ad-Free
 
 
8th June 2017, 03:24 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 103
 
More
Further to this, if you're a weirdo like me and want everything reset rather than a set value due to your own personal OCD, you can use "wm size reset && wm density reset"
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to jms.flynn For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jms.flynn Ad-Free
8th June 2017, 06:51 PM |#3  
sev7en's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 196
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illux

Hey there,

Daki from www.androidkosmos.de published a short article that the resolution can be changed to 4k by default (so Kudos to you man). As it's in German and not exactly step-by-step, I felt like posting a short how-to.

Step 1: Turn on Developer Options.

- Settings -> About -> Click 5x on Build-Number

Step 2: Allow USB debugging

- Settings -> Developer Options -> USB Debugging [X]

Step 3: Open ADB, (always without the " ofc!)

- Type "adb devices", click on "allow request" on your phone

Step 4: Change Resolution and DPI

- Type "adb shell"
- Type "wm size 2160×3840"
- Type "wm density 807 (after a little tinkering, I found 721 to be the best DPI. Yea, really, 721)"

There is no information so far as to how battery life is affected!

Back to default:

Repeat steps 1-3

Step 4: Change Resolution and DPI (back to default)

- Type "adb shell"
- Type "wm size 1080×1920"
- Type "wm density 403"

Best

IlluX

Thanks, when I set the 4k res, I get the error message "bad resolution"... why?
8th June 2017, 07:31 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Awesome!
8th June 2017, 08:32 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Kurunegala
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
will this work on Z5 Premium?
8th June 2017, 11:35 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sev7en

Thanks, when I set the 4k res, I get the error message "bad resolution"... why?

No idea, typo maybe? Tested it back and forth, not a single issue to report.
8th June 2017, 11:37 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sev7en

Thanks, when I set the 4k res, I get the error message "bad resolution"... why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ytheekshana

will this work on Z5 Premium?

I don't have a Z5P so I can't guarantee but I'm quite confident it does.
9th June 2017, 01:10 AM |#8  
DakiX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 385
 
Donate to Me
More
Haha look at that. Nice and thanks for share
I also published on talk.sonymobile.com forum.
9th June 2017, 02:05 AM |#9  
sev7en's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 196
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illux

No idea, typo maybe? Tested it back and forth, not a single issue to report.

Morning! Yes, it was... I used * instead of "x", I need new glasses eheh
The Following User Says Thank You to sev7en For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sev7en Ad-Free
10th June 2017, 02:34 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
How's the battery for you guys? When I do this to my Z5P, the battery doesn't even last a few hours
10th June 2017, 11:35 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jms.flynn

Further to this, if you're a weirdo like me and want everything reset rather than a set value due to your own personal OCD, you can use "wm size reset && wm density reset"

Thanks. I checked my default density before changing it with the command "wm density" which exported 420, not 403 like OP said .
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes