FORUMS

Official TWRP for Moto Z3 play has been released on TWRP site

77 posts
Thanks Meter: 37
 
By darkdaemon32, Member on 29th September 2018, 03:57 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
https://www.xda-developers.com/motor...-z3-play-twrp/

Quote:

Support Status: Current

Maintainer: kaneawk, erfanoabdi

Code Name: beckham

Device Tree / files

NOTE: Monthly security updates may break
decryption of /data in TWRP. MTP does not
work at this time, but you can use adb to transfer files.

https://twrp.me/motorola/motorolamotoz3play.html
The Following User Says Thank You to darkdaemon32 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift darkdaemon32 Ad-Free
1st October 2018, 10:28 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
The new twrp works fine
1st October 2018, 10:30 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Hopefully this means more support in the future. Did you flash or boot? Curious if it will bootloop if I flash the img
2nd October 2018, 05:03 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Installation:

If you do not already have TWRP installed: Download twrp img. You will need to have fastboot binaries and the correct drivers installed. Power off your device completely. Hold volume down and turn on the device. Your device should now be in the bootloader. Connect the device to your PC. Open a command window and run the following command from the proper location:

fastboot boot twrp.img

This will temporarily boot TWRP on your device.
3rd October 2018, 03:28 AM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
I'm aware of how to boot TWRP on my device. I was wondering if it would be possible to *flash* it though. As I understand it you need the TWRP zip compiled and was wondering if you got that working or not for this device.

Booting is fine for now but I need to have TWRP as recovery for bootloops when I don't have my PC available

Edit for spelling
10th October 2018, 08:51 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
what works
I have downloaded the twrp.img
I ran fastboot boot twrp.img
I have downloaded magisk 17.1 and flashed it via twrp
Installed Magisk Modules: AdgaurdDNS, Greenify4Magisk, and Viper4Android FX

what doesn't work
installed xposed framework via magisk -> caused bootloop
The Following User Says Thank You to sirkuttin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sirkuttin Ad-Free
11th October 2018, 10:27 AM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Pretty sure it's an Xposed bug because Xposed bootloops on any device that's got 8.1 with latest patches
13th October 2018, 08:26 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
So if we can unlock the bootloader, and boot to twrp, can we not install supersu from there? Or am I understanding this wrong?
13th October 2018, 08:27 PM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Magisk is superior in about every way. Also super su isn't being developed anymore
13th October 2018, 08:46 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Ah, I'll look into it more. My last phone was forever old, and my only option was SuperSU. Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to cmatthewb101 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cmatthewb101 Ad-Free
18th October 2018, 08:43 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
please any help update the download TWRP file, because in github the developers say mount vendor is working, but the file in twrp webpage its old.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes