FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

OEM Unlock Bootloader

138 posts
Thanks Meter: 97
 
By shafiq01, Senior Member on 14th September 2015, 10:08 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Z5C has an option now to check/un-check OEM Unlock (bootloader)
[I](tap mutiple times on buildnumber in 'about phone' and go to 'developer options')

But it seems very uncertain what the DRM loss is. MyXperia, maybe low light camera features? And etc.
I do not take any responsibility of any DRM loss.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-09-14-22-49-19.png
Views:	13842
Size:	82.9 KB
ID:	3473863   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-09-14-22-49-30.png
Views:	8724
Size:	75.3 KB
ID:	3473864   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-09-14-22-49-38.png
Views:	8696
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	3473865  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to shafiq01 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift shafiq01 Ad-Free
 
 
15th September 2015, 03:10 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Very interesting indeed! Thanks for sharing!
19th September 2015, 03:21 PM |#3  
thesebastian's Avatar
Senior Member
Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 360
 
More
Thanks for sharing this.

I take the opportunity to ask. Sony voids the warranty if you unlock the bootloader? (Like Motorola and almost every other company with the exception of Nexus/GPE devices and maybe some more).

Thanks!
20th September 2015, 01:08 PM |#4  
Badgerbadgerbadger's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Shouldn't be the case in EU. See [INFO][EU] Rooting and Flashing don't void the warranty or https://www.reddit.com/r/Android/com...loader/cne2u95 . However I don't have any experience with this myself.
23rd September 2015, 12:48 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Hoorn
Thanks Meter: 123
 
More
This is good news indeed if it holds up untill the release date.
29th September 2015, 01:59 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Here is a list of supported devices if you want to keep track.
developer.sonymobile com/unlockbootloader/unlock-yourboot-loader

I got my z5c yesterday. If I follow the step-by-step guide for z3c (because z5c is not listed, yet?) and call *#*#7378423#*#*, go to service info > configuration > rooting status, it says "Rooting status: Bootloader unlocked allowed: yes".

Continuing the process and providing a mail and then my IMEI, I received a unlock link for my Sony Xperia Z5 Compact using the Z3 Compact guide. I have not tried to use it yet but I will when I get home.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to itaq For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift itaq Ad-Free
29th September 2015, 02:41 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Cool, let us know how you get on! Looks like you're the first one to have a go at it.
29th September 2015, 05:09 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I tried doing it but I can connect to fastboot. With z3c, this was done like this:

1. Turn off your Xperia™ Z3 Compact.
2. Connect a USB-cable to your computer.
3. On your Xperia™ Z3 Compact, press the Volume up button at the same time as you connect the other end of the USB-cable. For Windows users, when asked for a driver, point to the usb_driver folder where you placed the android_winusb.inf-file, and select the Android Boot loader Interface-file.
4. When your device is connected, open a command window on your computer and go to the platform-tools folder within the Android SDK folder.
5. Enter the following command:
fastboot devices
6. Verify that you get an answer back without any errors.

This does not seem to apply on z5c. Any ideas?
29th September 2015, 05:53 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
Donate to Me
More
OEM Unlock Bootloader - Preserving DRM most likley!?
Did you check bootloader allowed option from settings --> developers options as posted earlier


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
29th September 2015, 07:46 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mele80

Did you check bootloader allowed option from settings --> developers options as posted earlier


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

If you mean Enable OEM unlock, then yes, I have that checked. I also have USB debugging enabled.
30th September 2015, 11:13 AM |#11  
lowtraxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Augsburg
Thanks Meter: 869
 
Donate to Me
More
I tried and the device boots into fastboot mode just fine. It also is listed normally using
Code:
fastboot devices
But I am too much of a coward to try
Code:
fastboot oem unlock
because I bought the device mostly for the camera and don't want to break it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes