FORUMS

Zte Blade L3 Android 5.0.2 Unlock/Root/Rom

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By tsikis, Junior Member on 23rd November 2015, 03:30 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello to all so i got this Zte blade L3 quite some time now but havent got to root it or even unlock it , so i will just put my experience here and maybe i can get someone else help to at last root it or at least unlock so as to put some custom rom because no one done any of this yet.
So About rooting i tried Every single one app or program that claims to root this or any other phone in the market this includes android apps or apps that can be run from a computer, i tried to push many zip with supersu or new recoveries to use them to root it but it is locked so i cannot push a single zip or flash anything.
So rooting is out of the question now lets go to Unlocking.
Tried to unlock it any way i have read online the only one that came close to it is put it in fastboot mode and run fastboot oem unlock but after that there is a step where i need to press the Volume + button which is frozen ( it doesnt work) but only in fastboot mode it works in normal mode or the recovery mode so i suppose that its locked in that mode as not to be unlocked.
Well after that putting a custom rom is impossible of course because of it being locked so this end this effort to do anything with this mobile phone is useless.
Some more info all the drivers are correctly installed adb fastboot developers options enabled debugging enabled , there is NO option in developer options to Enable oem unlock though as i have seen in other 5.x android version , i dont know if that is helpful.
Thanks hope to a solution
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tsikis For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tsikis Ad-Free
13th January 2016, 10:15 AM |#2  
Ricky Divjakovski's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 7,681
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsikis

Hello to all so i got this Zte blade L3 quite some time now but havent got to root it or even unlock it , so i will just put my experience here and maybe i can get someone else help to at last root it or at least unlock so as to put some custom rom because no one done any of this yet.
So About rooting i tried Every single one app or program that claims to root this or any other phone in the market this includes android apps or apps that can be run from a computer, i tried to push many zip with supersu or new recoveries to use them to root it but it is locked so i cannot push a single zip or flash anything.
So rooting is out of the question now lets go to Unlocking.
Tried to unlock it any way i have read online the only one that came close to it is put it in fastboot mode and run fastboot oem unlock but after that there is a step where i need to press the Volume + button which is frozen ( it doesnt work) but only in fastboot mode it works in normal mode or the recovery mode so i suppose that its locked in that mode as not to be unlocked.
Well after that putting a custom rom is impossible of course because of it being locked so this end this effort to do anything with this mobile phone is useless.
Some more info all the drivers are correctly installed adb fastboot developers options enabled debugging enabled , there is NO option in developer options to Enable oem unlock though as i have seen in other 5.x android version , i dont know if that is helpful.
Thanks hope to a solution

well first you determine if the device is mediatek, if it is making a recovery should be easy, 2nd of all determining how to unlock the bootloader and as far as i know fastboot oem-unlock should do the trick, then you are gonna have to findout the recovery block, then push the custom recovery to the recovery partition, reboot then root through recovery with simple superuser.
or we can root, then flash the recovery partition with dd, try using kingroot to root, if not we are gonna have to try the first way, substantially harder but more effective
13th January 2016, 11:37 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
It is mediatek , fastboot oem-unlock wont do the trick as i mentioned above because when i reach the step of Yes/No Volu + /Vol - the Vol + which is the yes is locked i press it and nothing happens, the rest i wont answer because i havent went after the step of unlocking the bootloader as for the 2nd way I CANT ROOT thats why i have this posted , please give a bit more importance to what i have said i explain everything i cant root by any programs android or computer program i cant unlock he bootloader because of the vol+ issue (its not broken the volume + button it works everywhere besides there) so i suppose it has something to do with being locked or something.
Thanks for the effort but it wont work
20th January 2016, 08:52 AM |#4  
Member
Flag Tel Aviv-Yafo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Detail on the "Enable Unlocking" bootloader that can't be unlocked
Although it is hard to understand the poster's original question because the entire post is a single run-on sentence, his question is VERY sound IMHO -- I have the identical problem and I'm at wits' end:

My phone is a Rook from EE (UK), which I understand is a carrier-branded ZTE Blade 3 A410. (I post below the output of fastboot getvar all). I apologize that I don't know what it means "to check if the phone is MediaTek" --please explain and I'll be happy to. check.

Unlike the earlier poster's phone, this one DOES have an "OEM Unlocking/Allow the bootloader to be unlocked" toggle in developer's options. The entire process of unlocking the bootloader goes completely without incident, up to the point when i need to use Volume Up or Down to cancel or confirm the unlock (and then press the power button to do the unlock):

------------------dos cmd window snippet------------------------

C:\Users\seth\Documents\My Installation Files>adb devices -l
List of devices attached
0123456789ABCDEF device product:P635E40_EE model:Rook_from_EE device:P635E40

C:\Users\seth\Documents\My Installation Files>adb reboot bootloader

C:\Users\seth\Documents\My Installation Files>fastboot oem unlock
...
---------------------------------------------end of DOS cmd snippet----------------------

PLEASE now look at the attachments to this post-- each one is a picture of the screen at some point during the bootloader-unlock process. (The blanked-out squares in the pics did not excise any text or other information; the pics were only edited to remove annoying glare from lights in the room).

The first attachment is a pic of the fastboot-mode screen. I don't know if it's strange or not that this screen is VERY simple, a single line of text. I see from various pics in this forum that usually the fastboot screen has a logo and some information. Not sure this matters, but just in case....


The second attachment to this post is a pic of the disclaimer screen.
You will see that it is the usual disclaimer screen, ending in the Yes/No choice that one is supposed to do with Volume UP/Down.
BUT NOTE: Neither line is highlighted. There is just two lines of text which say "yes" or "no".
If, at this point, I press Volume Down, the screen displays a new line for a few seconds. You can see this new extra line in the third attachment to this post. Since we pressed Volume Down, it's no surprise that the new line says that we'll be returned to fastboot. And indeed, a few seconds later, the screen switches to the screen, a pic of which is in the 4th and final attachment here.

Of course, we WANT to unlock the bootloader, so I press Volume UP and not Volume Down at this point. But When I press Volume UP -- NOTHING happens. No change at all. If I press volume Up and then press the power button, NOTHING happens.

So that's the problem: I Cant highlight the "yes" choice by pressing volume Up. I can't highlight "no" via volume Down either, but at least when I press volume down, it acts as a cancel button.

[Now that i think of it, the usual explanations all say that one has to use the volume keys to select and then press the power button. The text in the attachment doesn't mention the power button. is it possible that with this new phone, the bootloader changed and gives no feedback if one presses Volume UP -- you just have to wait a while and then it will be unlocked? I'll try that and report if that leads anywhere.]

(I'm not sure it's relevant, but just in case it is: if i press Volume UP, and then press AND HOLD the power button for several seconds, then the phone boots normally, in the DOS cmd window, the fastboot oem unlock command returns with one of two errors. I' tried it several times and always got one of two errors (exactly which one I got seemed to be random) -- either FAILED with a "read error -- unknown error" or FAILED with a "read error -- too many links")

The bottom line question is: WHAT DO I HAVE TO DO to be able to use Volume UP/Down and Power to highlight the choice I want -- namely "Yes, unlock" -- and then execute it? Or is there some other way to unlock the bootloader.

with thanks,
scott

P.S. BTW, I tried all these steps a second time after setting the phone to factory reset manually. Same exact results.

P.P.S.: And just in case it helps, here is the output of fastboot getvar all:

C:\Users\seth\Documents\My Installation Files>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) max-download-size: 0x8000000
(bootloader) partition-size:flashinfo: 1000000
(bootloader) partition-type:flashinfo: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:userdata: 32000000
(bootloader) partition-type:userdata: ext4
(bootloader) partition-size:cache: c800000
(bootloader) partition-type:cache: ext4
(bootloader) partition-size:system: 96000000
(bootloader) partition-type:system: ext4
(bootloader) partition-size:metadata: 2480000
(bootloader) partition-type:metadata: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:nvdata: 2000000
(bootloader) partition-type:nvdata: ext4
(bootloader) partition-size:frp: 100000
(bootloader) partition-type:frp: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:tee2: 500000
(bootloader) partition-type:tee2: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:tee1: 500000
(bootloader) partition-type:tee1: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:keystore: 800000
(bootloader) partition-type:keystore: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:secro: 600000
(bootloader) partition-type:secro: raw data
(bootloader) partition-sizeemkeystore: 200000
(bootloader) partition-typeemkeystore: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:ztecfg: 80000
(bootloader) partition-type:ztecfg: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:seccfg: 80000
(bootloader) partition-type:seccfg: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:expdb: a00000
(bootloader) partition-type:expdb: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:logo: 800000
(bootloader) partition-type:logo: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:recovery: 1000000
(bootloader) partition-type:recovery: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:boot: 1000000
(bootloader) partition-type:boot: raw data
(bootloader) partition-sizeara: 80000
(bootloader) partition-typeara: raw data
(bootloader) partition-size:lk: 80000
(bootloader) partition-type:lk: raw data
(bootloader) partition-sizerotect2: a00000
(bootloader) partition-typerotect2: ext4
(bootloader) partition-sizerotect1: a00000
(bootloader) partition-typerotect1: ext4
(bootloader) partition-size:nvram: 500000
(bootloader) partition-type:nvram: raw data
(bootloader) partition-sizeroinfo: 300000
(bootloader) partition-typeroinfo: raw data
(bootloader) partition-sizereloader: 40000
(bootloader) partition-typereloader: raw data
(bootloader) off-mode-charge: 1
(bootloader) warranty: yes
(bootloader) unlocked: no
(bootloader) secure: yes
(bootloader) kernel: lk
(bootloader) product: ZTESH6735M_64_L
(bootloader) version: 0.5
all: Done!!
finished. total time: 0.077s
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic#1.jpg
Views:	2642
Size:	107.4 KB
ID:	3616172   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic#2.jpg
Views:	2664
Size:	126.8 KB
ID:	3616173   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic#3.jpg
Views:	2766
Size:	153.3 KB
ID:	3616174   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pic#4.jpg
Views:	2694
Size:	114.1 KB
ID:	3616175  
17th February 2016, 12:04 AM |#5  
Member
Flag Tel Aviv-Yafo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsikis

Hello to all so i got this Zte blade L3 quite some time now but havent got to root it or even unlock it , so i will just put my experience here and maybe i can get someone else help to at last root it or at least unlock so as to put some custom rom because no one done any of this yet.
So About rooting i tried Every single one app or program that claims to root this or any other phone in the market this includes android apps or apps that can be run from a computer, i tried to push many zip with supersu or new recoveries to use them to root it but it is locked so i cannot push a single zip or flash anything.
So rooting is out of the question now lets go to Unlocking.
Tried to unlock it any way i have read online the only one that came close to it is put it in fastboot mode and run fastboot oem unlock but after that there is a step where i need to press the Volume + button which is frozen ( it doesnt work) but only in fastboot mode it works in normal mode or the recovery mode so i suppose that its locked in that mode as not to be unlocked.
Well after that putting a custom rom is impossible of course because of it being locked so this end this effort to do anything with this mobile phone is useless.
Some more info all the drivers are correctly installed adb fastboot developers options enabled debugging enabled , there is NO option in developer options to Enable oem unlock though as i have seen in other 5.x android version , i dont know if that is helpful.
Thanks hope to a solution

So I have finally succeeded to get root on my ZTE Blade A410, which behaved in an IDENTICAL manner to what you describe. Volume-UP has no effect, so can't confirm the bootloader unlock. The suggestion in this thread to do it with dd is also a non-starter. In fact, without root, you can't even mount the recovery partition, let alone modify it with dd. The Procedure took me about 30 minutes to do --- and about 3 solid weeks to figure out. I will give it in outline here, and then will give more detail in a separate thread. I guess it must be the case that there is a class of ZTE phones which just have a locked bootloader, and are not yet covered by previous posts.
To be crystal clear: I can root my phone, but I still cannot unlock the bootloader. I have posted to the mtk droid tools forum, hoping that someone there will be able to send me the read-backs I need to do that. In the meantime, here is how you root your locked ZTE Mediatek phone:

1. You need to get, create, download, or otherwise acquire a correct, well-formatted scatter file for your phone. If you have an older 32-bit Mediatek based ZTE, this is easy to do with MTK Droid Tools. If, like me, your phone has a newer 64-bit chip, you cannot use Droid Tools. But it's not hard to do. I found a scatter file for MT6735M online (that's the Mediatek in my phone). But I had to modify all of the addresses to match my phone exactly. I found the correct addresses in several places, and the fact that they all agreed was comforting: there was a badly formatted scatter file in the zte official update.zip ROM upgrade; I could do "adb cat /proc/emmc" without being root; and although Droid Tools was useless for my 64-bit chip, the debugging output log.txt prints out the entire partition table.
2. Armed with a good scatter file, you make what backup you can using SP Flash Tool. If you **** up, and you will, believe me, you will want these backups.
3. Now, you get a correct custom recovery.img for your phone.
4. And yes, it's scary, but you download that custom recovery.img over the one in your phone using SP Flash Tool. This is way below the level of anything that a locked bootloader or not-being-root can prevent. The phone won't know what hit it.
5.Voila -- you now have a phone with TWRP or CWM recovery. And **it** just doesn't care if you are bootloader-locked, or S-ON. It will let you flash the correct supersu.zip file to your phone. When you do this, you will be rooted. If you want t STAY rooted, then before you reboot normally, or shutdown, you MUST reboot once back into the recovery you just installed -- and let the recovery modify the system partition as it wishes. Once you do this, you will be permanently rooted.

But your bootloader will be as impregnably locked as before, I'm sorry to say.

I was truly an android virgin before I began this exercise about a month ago. My phone and I have been through a lot together since then. I only say this to give you confidence that you shouldn't be afraid to do this -- but you really SHOULD make sure you understand the steps before you do, or you really might regret it. I know i was annoyed when I discovered that I had replaced my recovery partition by an unbroken sequence of 0s (the first time I tried to flash the custom recovery). But i had read though the SP Flash Tools tutorial and got past this. I'll be happy to give more detail to anyone who needs it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sbpetrack For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sbpetrack Ad-Free
20th February 2016, 03:06 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hey there first of thanks a lot i mean i wasnt even close to what you did and tried for weeks too.
Now i done every step successfully i made the scatter file working one , i backed up , i flashed the recovery image , i flashed the supersu zip , several of them because nothing worked i rebooted into recovery and when i press reboot to recovery i had the Root device option used and then i rebooted normally but nothing works i mean i see the zip being installed when the phone opens i got no supersu installed i installed one and it says no binary su found always the same issue.
Any ideas?
27th March 2016, 06:31 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
HI , i have zte blade L3 and android kitkat 4,4 .there is no update for lollipop .but i see some phone have a lollipop 5,1,1 .sorry for bad english .

i need a download link, and tutorial how to install (i need europe firmware)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
zte-blade-l3

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes