FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[EXPLAINED] z2_row (pro) | /factory to /vendor | revert to /factory - TREBLE

924 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,142
 
Post Reply Email Thread

A GUIDE TO FLASH LATEST TREBLE ROMS, OLDER TREBLE ROMS OR NON-TREBLE ROMS ROMS
UPDATE: A guide to rename our /factory partition as /vendor so that you can flash OLDER Android Oreo treble builds! We do not need this guide on Android Pie custom ROMs or for Stock ZUI WE ONLY NEED THIS FOR ANDROID OREO TREBLE BUILDS REQUIRING /factory renamed as /vendor
for Lenovo Zuk Z2 PRO


Latest Treble : /factory renamed i.e switched to /vendor
Older Treble:/factory mounted as /vendor
Non-Treble: Nothing to do with Vendor, Factory stuff lol


INTRO

As you all know that we now have TREBLE, and Zuk-devs are working hard to improve it further so that when the time comes we can move to GSI builds of future Android versions.
Recently, Zuk-devs have renamed the /factory partition into /vendor partition previously we were mounting /factory as /vendor but now it has been converted(renamed) to /vendor partition with this you'll be able to use a Proper Magisk zip, and you don't need a modded/edited Magisk, etc and lotta other kinds of stuff that we will discuss and come to know in the future.


rootdir: fstab: Use the right label for our vendor partition.


TUTORIAL:

What you want to do:

** Flash OLD TREBLE ROMS /factory is renamed to /vendor - NOTE NOT NEEDED FOR NEWER ROMS! **


Instructions:

* Flash "Factory2Vendor_plus.zip",
*Flash belowTWRP,
*Reboot To TWRP,
*Flash ROM,
+ GApps / + Magisk etc
* Reboot.
*Enjoy


Downloads:
Factory2Vendor_pro: https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=746010030569969371
TWRP for /factory renamed as /vendor roms https://github.com/cosmedd/android_d...3_recovery.img



** REVERTING BACK to NORMAL aka renaming /vendor back to/factory **

Instructions:

*Flash "Vendor 2Factory_plus.zip",
*Flash OFFICIALTWRP,

*Reboot TWRP,
*Flash ROM,
+ GApps / + Magisk etc
*Reboot.
*Enjoy


Downloads:
Vendor2Factory_pro: https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=673956719939835215
https://twrp.me/zuk/zukz2row.html


** REVERTING BACK to NORMAL aka renaming /vendor back to/factory **


Instructions:


*Flash ROM,
+ GApps / + Magisk etc
*Reboot.
*Enjoy



Notes:
  • This 'New TWRP' will work for both Latest Treble and Non-Treble RoMs
  • For ZUI also no need to flash any patch, New TWRP shall work (Needs to be tested)
  • You can flash Non Treble RoMs and Nougat Builds or other builds with the new TWRP and no patches need to be flashed
  • Once you flash "factory2vendor" or "vendor2factory" you do not need to flash again unless mentioned in the build
    or if you want to revert back to Old Treble RoMs where /factory was mounted as /vendor

CREDITS
Zuk-devs - Davidevinavil, DD3Boh and Cosmedd (https://github.com/zuk-devs)
@Fedor917 for giving the idea
And all others who have contributed in any manner!
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to kubersharma For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kubersharma Ad-Free
 
 
17th April 2018, 04:36 AM |#2  
kubersharma's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi , India
Thanks Meter: 4,142
 
Donate to Me
More
Reserved
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kubersharma For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kubersharma Ad-Free
17th April 2018, 04:37 AM |#3  
kubersharma's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi , India
Thanks Meter: 4,142
 
Donate to Me
More
You'll be able to use above method for Latest AEX coming soon by Davidevinavil and all the ROMs compiled using the latest sources as per by Zuk-devs
Links added, enjoy
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kubersharma For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kubersharma Ad-Free
17th April 2018, 09:03 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thx
17th April 2018, 09:21 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 40
 
Donate to Me
More
Can we make this procedure opposite? i.e. flash first twrp and than that zip? I normally flash twrp with official twrp app
17th April 2018, 12:18 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
1 or 2 should I do if I want to flash from the latest zui to AEX5.4 ,thx
17th April 2018, 12:45 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks
18th April 2018, 12:30 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thanks zuk developer
20th April 2018, 01:45 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I just tryed to flash Vendor 2Factory_pro..zip but I get following error "failed to mount '/vendor' (invalid argument)". I was in previous version 5.4 (1104). After restart, it does not load the rom but the bootloader. problem is the devices is not recognized under "adb devices" when in bootloader. Any ideas will be very welcome
20th April 2018, 01:53 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Sosnowiec
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darquesp

I just tryed to flash Vendor 2Factory_pro..zip but I get following error "failed to mount '/vendor' (invalid argument)". I was in previous version 5.4 (1104). After restart, it does not load the rom but the bootloader. problem is the devices is not recognized under "adb devices" when in bootloader. Any ideas will be very welcome

In bootloader (fastboot) you must use
fastboot -i 0x2b4c
ADB works in twrp or with system . Just follow this guide .
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mar.ur For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mar.ur Ad-Free
20th April 2018, 02:48 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mar.ur

In bootloader (fastboot) you must use
fastboot -i 0x2b4c
ADB works in twrp or with system . Just follow this guide .


I installed the vendor, but the twrp is only black.

Any solution?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
factory2vendor, vendor2factory, z2 pro treble

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes